Sacrifice ≃


b10ec3672ee29dd94525f2352d68d2d3

 

wait for it…     ▼

This Soldier lives…

 Kyle Hockenberry, 19  loses both legs and an arm, but he lives. To read the story behind his tattoo and recovery, follow this link! 

They Got Our Back…


019d39b8037790f7f779aa1947a1fcda

 

That’s right.

#RedFriday

8,000: 1


marines-rip

With September being Suicide prevention month I thought I’d share one of the first stories I researched when I started blogging. (It was soon after I lost a friend to the “8,000 mile sniper shot”). I became so wrapped up with this epidemic our troops veterans are in that I started a blog that focused directly on suicide amount service members–nothing else. Needless to say it was short lived, not because I didn’t care, but because it’s a very hard topic to think about every day; I shut the blog down and didn’t start with Maiden here until last year. (as a matter of fact, her one year anniversary is coming up soon).  Read more

I Am A Reflective Belt Of The United States Of America


LOL!

#DuffelBlog

I am a reflective belt of the United States of America.

My name is “that f**ing ‘bs’ PT belt I gotta wear.”

I encircle the mighty American soldier.

I stand watch in every conflict zone and protect my wearer.

Look down across your chest and see me. Read more


U.S. Army soldiers from the 173rd Airborne Brigade Combat Team

“To no man does the earth mean so much as to the soldier. When he presses himself down upon her long and powerfully, when he buries his face and his limbs deep in her from the fear of death by shell-fire, then she is his only friend, his brother, his mother; he stifles his terror and his cries in her silence and her security; she shelters him and releases him for ten seconds to live, to run, ten seconds of life; receives him again and again and often forever.”
Erich Maria Remarque, All Quiet on the Western Front

Navy: I Can Quit Drinking Anytime I Want


US Navy Petty Officers

#DuffelBlog

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The United States Navy said Wednesday that it did not have a drinking problem and it could “totally quit drinking anytime,” sources confirmed.

The Navy cited it is dealing with numerous stressful issues and picking up a bottle from time to time hasn’t made any significant impact on mission accomplishment. Among the day-to-day stressors the Navy says it experiences are boredom, anger at the Marine Corps for always flirting with all the hot Air Force babes, and recent budget woes from sequestration. Read more