Military releases name of Marine shot at NC base


I don’t watch main stream media. I found out about this from a veteran…yesterday; this took place Tuesday evening. I’m not sure why I didn’t see any coverage being where I live and it’s connection with the USMC. Anyway,  give it a read and see what you think. 

CAMP LEJEUNE, N.C. — 

(AP) The Marine killed in what authorities are describing as an apparently accidental shooting at a North Carolina military base has been identified as a 21-year-old Texan on sentry duty.

Read more

Pathfinders: Into The Heart of Afghanistan


A Pathfinder Platoon patrol harboured up withi...

After watching this video of our comrades across the pond, I’m not sure the “Pathfinder” are all that…war worthy. With all due respect, the men look unprotected and it looks like it would topple easily.  I’m no expert that’s for sure, so this is only my opinion. (44:05)

Watch video

Virtual Tour of the Smithsonian


Circa 1926. "Ford car at National Museum." A Model T outside the Smithsonian Institution's main exhibit hall, completed in 1910. Today the building serves as the National Museum of Natural

Have you ever been to the Smithsonian? Would you like to see it? Now we can! A friend of mine on Google Plus shared a link with us today; a virtual tour of the National Natural History Museum and I thought I’d share it here. I haven’t taken the full tour yet, I wanted to get it posted first! Let me know if there are any special things to check out and I’ll do the same. Enjoy! Read more

Apollo 13 launched to moon:1970


Apollo13 csm recovery
Apollo13 csm recovery (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On April 11, 1970, Apollo 13, the third lunar landing mission, is successfully launched from Cape Canaveral, Florida, carrying astronauts James A. Lovell, John L. Swigert, and Fred W. Haise. The spacecraft’s destination was the Fra Mauro highlands of the moon, where the astronauts were to explore the Imbrium Basin and conduct geological experiments. After an oxygen tank exploded on the evening of April 13, however, the new mission objective became to get the Apollo 13 crew home alive.

Read more

Controversial ‘Navy SEAL Slide’ Move Now Taught At BUD/S


DUFFEL BLOG:

CORONADO, CA — In a memo that is sure to send shock waves through the SEAL community, Naval Special Warfare Command released details on a new move to be taught to all future operators. The memo, obtained today, outlined an interesting maneuver dubbed “The Navy SEAL Slide.” Read more