r1HUyl5

The title song by R.E.M. I don’t know about you but I’m not okay with how our story is going; I’m discouraged.

If you ask anyone who knows me, they’ll tell you that, for the most part I’m uplifting and cheerful. I pride myself on making others feel good, I focus on the good in the world and the people in it.

Something that I love doing has become increasingly difficult for me; I’m having to make an effort with something that was innate for me for most of my life. I read the headlines (Blog headlines, I have lost all confidence in the truthfulness and motives of the media) and all I see is concerned Americans working their fingers to the bone getting the truth out there–I’m turning into a cynic–and it’s very unbecoming of me, but when I see so many “Americans” either indifferent or clouded by carefully worded and timed propaganda, I can’t help but feel anger. Where is my America? Has she done us so horribly the past 238 years that so many have turned their back on her? Does anyone remember reading or hearing President Kennedy say, “Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country?” It seems we’ve drifted off course (a long time ago) and have hit the proverbial iceberg. Yet so many of us on “this sinking ship” believe the “Captain” when he tells us “Our ship isn’t sinking” as they struggle to breathe and tread water trying to convince the rest of us who know better, that the lie is true. It’s a cryin’ shame…

Maybe a good nights sleep is what I need to rid myself of this overwhelming feeling of hopelessness; I sure hope so, I’ve come close to throwing in the towel and that’s not who I am. Thank you for letting me vent, at least for making this far through my rant. I’ll do my best to stay the upbeat and hopeful… Goodnight.  Anna

image