‘I Was Born in a Bomb Crater’


TIP OF THE SPEAR

CHAOS

 

I just noticed the date on the poster. It reads November 17, 1775. That is INCORRECT. The USMC’s birthday is on November 10, 1775. 

US Special Forces Arrive In Baghdad


CRAB APPLES!
RICHARD SISKMILITARY.COM
JUN. 24, 2014, 5:41 PM

About 90 Special Forces troops arrived in Baghdad Tuesday to begin an advisory mission to the Iraqi military that could lead to airstrikes against Islamic militants now controlling large swaths of northern and western Iraq.

The 90 Special Forces troops were joining 40 troops pulled from assignments at the U.S. Embassy in Baghdad to set up a Joint Operations Center with the Iraqi military. An additional 50 Special Forces troops were expected to arrive in Baghdad in the next several days, said Rear Adm. John Kirby, the Pentagon press secretary. Read more

A Letter to PTSD


 ptsdedit

A letter to PTSD
POSTED ON MAY 21, 2013 

Dear PTSD,
Before you came into my life, I had heard rumors. Back then, no one really spoke about you unless it was in hushed whispers. No one knew for sure what you looked like- but I heard you did unspeakable things… that you crept into bed with husbands and seduced them away from their unsuspecting wives. I also heard that you drank. A lot. I heard sometimes you could be two places at once- physically in one place but mentally elsewhere. It was also said that you were a liar, home wrecker, careless and violent… that sometimes you would take your mounting anger out on walls or whatever or whomever happened to get in your way. You left shattered picture frames and broken memories in your wake. There have been songs written about you… yet they don’t even begin to do justice to just how evil you are. In fact, there has been talk of you being a murderer. I can’t say that I’m surprised. I wouldn’t put it past you. I believed those rumors and I certainly never invited you into my life. Read more

The Pentagon/CIA Cover-up of Gulf War Syndrome


https://plus.google.com/u/0/110321549524619427432/posts/LBV58kdPuh7

Welcome to GulfLINK


https://plus.google.com/u/0/110321549524619427432/posts/6RNzoNtUwDm

‘Pork-chop’


I know this isn’t a military working dog but I think ‘Pork-chop’ deserves to be among the ranks.

#wardogs

 

Fun Fact: Aircraft Maintenance, WWII


tech

“I met a guy today whose father worked on aircraft maintenance during WWII. They didn’t have technical manuals so they wrote their own as they went along.”

The Importance of SERE Training


Updated May 08, 2014
Navy SERE Training

By 

It was a blistering day on Oct. 3, 1993, during Operation Restore Hope when Chief Warrant Officer Michael Durant, a UH-60 Black Hawk helicopter pilot, crashed in Mogadishu, Somalia.

The Special Forces officer was captured and held captive as portrayed in the movie, “Black Hawk Down.” According to Durant, in his book, In the Company of Heroes, if it were not for a survival-training course, he would have not returned home 11 days later with honor. Read more