Danger Close, Acknowledged


“Danger Close Acknowledged, You’re Cleared Hot” ~#sixwordwar

– during a firefight on a CONOP named ‘Mountain Reach 2’ HHC, 2-503 IN (ABN), 173rd ABCT. Kunar Province, Afghanistan, OEF X.

For context: This is a story of a commander being shot at the start of a firefight, and the group of lieutenants and staff sergeants that destroyed the world around them in response. Several hours – and one MEDEVAC, four speedball UH-60 drops, six GBU’s (some Danger Close), countless gun runs, mortar fire, and hand grenades later – we got all of our guys out alive. The enemy could not say the same.

Black Hawk Down: Battle of Mogadishu


Pvt. Marc Good a medic with the Third Ranger Battalion gets ready to exit his Black Hawk helicopter during a military strike in Mogadishu, Somalia in 1993.
Pvt. Marc Good a medic with the Third Ranger Battalion gets ready to exit his Black Hawk helicopter during a military strike in Mogadishu, Somalia in 1993.
“Only the dead  have seen the end of war.” ~Plato

 

The Battle of Mogadishu, more commonly referred to as Black Hawk Down or, locally, as the Day of the Rangers (SomaliMaalintii Rangers), was part of Operation Gothic Serpent and was fought on 3 and 4 October 1993, in MogadishuSomalia, between forces of the United States supported by UNOSOM II, and Somali militiamen loyal to the self-proclaimed president-to-be Mohamed Farrah Aidid who had support from armed civilian fighters.

Be sure to watch never before seen military footage of the battle below. Read more

Old Ironsides Earns its Name


It’s been quite a while since the days of iron men and wooden ships, but the nation’s oldest Navy warship, USS Constitution, still serves as a reminder of America’s maritime heritage.

“Old Ironsides” is a poem written by Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr., on September 16, 1830, as a tribute to the eighteenth-century frigate USS Constitution. Thanks in part to the poem, she was saved from being decommissioned and is now the oldest commissioned ship in the world still afloat. Read more

Kitty rescued by US Marine in Afghanistan.


 

Found on themetapicture.com

#caturday

World War II, Navy Sailor’s Love Letter from 1945


fa_1221_ddayla0771940

A Sailor’s love letter during World War II:

Return Address:

Receiving Station

Bremerton, Washington

(May 10, 8 cents via Air Mail, postmarked)

Addressee:

11 Booker St

Brunswick, Maine

Letter Dated:

May 9, 1945

Dearest,

Hello darling, I have reached the west coast again and I will be here about two months. Did my mother tell that you I was leaving Boston, I asked her to? I wished it wasn’t so far from you. I would ask you to come out, and we could get married. Gosh dear, you don’t know how much I love you. I am going to stay in most of time while I am here. I will write to you often.

You know, dear, that you’re the only girl that I ever met that I wanted to marry and every time I think of you I wish that I was back there. When I get back I hope that we can get married and live a life of happiness.

Will you send me one of your pictures so that I can have it to look at? I hope you don’t mind this letter is in pencil, as I don’t have my pen.

I don’t know what else to write about, except that I love you with all my heart. I never thought I would fall in love, but I have and what a wonderful feeling. I will close for this time. Write when you can I will be waiting to hear from you.

All my love to the best girl in the world,

Copyright © LostInRevery® 2013 – All Rights Reserved