image
Gulf War Illness

Chronic multisymptom illness was formerly called Gulf War Syndrome, the Institute of Medicine report said. It includes symptoms in at least two of six categories:

fatigue, mood and cognition issues, musculoskeletal problems, gastrointestinal problems, respiratory difficulties and neurologic issues that last for at least six months.

Annas opinion:
I know a handful of veterans who are plagued with GWI and I have to say, they WISH it only lasted six months. It never goes away. To make matters worse, they’ve suffer silently for over 20 years. (of course regrettably, some did succumbed to the symptoms along the way).
It wasn’t until very recently that the government admitted that yes, there’s a possibility that it could be related to the toxic exposure in the Persian Gulf. What does this mean? It means these men and women-our defenders– have gone untreated, their plea for help ignored, benefits turned down. They’ve even been called liars after suggesting it was a war related illness.
They’re still not getting the help they desperately need and have every right to. They’ve earned it; many times over.
grr.
Here a link to a veteran and friend’s Google plus page where you can get an in depth look at the grip this illness has on our veterans.

Gulf War Syndrome (Glenn Stewart)

Glenn and I go “waaay back.” Well, a few years anyway. 😉 Show your support and check out the tireless work and hours he’s poured into this; all while suffering with the illness himself.
He also has a YouTube channel, the link can be found on his about page via the link above. Thank you.
~Anna

This article was published in January of 2013 and can be found on USA Today’s website.

Image source

#Stop22ADay âš“

6 thoughts on “Image of the Day: 21 July 2015

  1. 😉 To the end, my friend. It’s been a blessing and honor to support all of you. Thank YOU, for teaching me so much about–gosh–everything.

    Like

  2. Thank you very much.
    I’ve just recently fixed a wifi issue I’ve had since I arrived in Florida; I haven’t been around much. Everything seems to be working now, you’ll be seeing more of me. Thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know you have trouble getting on my site for some reason, but I thought you might want this notice I just received yesterday and sent out.
    #################################################################################

    Veterans –

    I have been informed by Sheri de Grom that veterans who applied for disabilities using the electronic system, especially the promised 100% disability payment for any vet who served in Vietnam and now has diabetes or kidney disease, there are problems. It’s expected to to take a minimum of 3 years to adjudicate each of those claims and the veteran MUST add new information to his/her claim every 6 months to keep the electronic claim active.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are now closed.