“In Prosperity Our Friends Know Us. In Adversity We Know Our friends.”
Colin Powell

image
He's not heavy, he's my brother.

We’re coming up on the holiday that grabs hold of the hearts of our veterans. It’s a struggle for many of them as they search for answers as to why their lives were spared but many of their brothers and sisters in arms lives were not. The guilt they feel is real, and imaginably overwhelming at times.

image

I’ll be the first to say, (as much as I want to comfort and tell them why I feel fate handed them the cards it did) I’m in no position nor do I have the right to give advice on this matter. So I listen. Just listen.

Because they took the oath, stared death in the face on numerous occasions (death winning it’s unfair share of hands) in a far off  land, witnessed unimaginable horrors inflicted upon the innocent and their own, I was protected from having to experience the losses they feel first hand.

THANK YOU.

As the holiday nears and preparations for the start of  kick off summer BB-Q’s  get underway, take a moment to think/talk  about the true meaning of the Day and who’s responsible for our  ability to celebrate 🎉 being American. I hope it brings  somber pride to your hearts for our great nation and those who defend her.

FINAL THOUGHT:
At the end of the day when all is said and done; when nothing more can be uttered from my lips because of the tiredness of the day (there’s a lot to do when you live free), I can lay my head on my pillow confident that I’ll be safe while I sleep because of the watchful eyes of our defenders quietly at their post–at the ready–to defend to the death the land and liberties we all love.

I’m proud to be an American and of the men and women who have worn/wear our country’s uniform.

image
Remember the sacrifices

Enjoy your 3 day weekend, and the long summer days ahead. Smile often;  laugh more. Be safe, be happy. ~Anna

